Faith, Lee Min Ho, and other Reasons

faith-bts-imja2

It has been a while since I’ve posted, and really, I am still on hiatus, a couple more weeks of semester crunch.  But I was looking for something and found  notes on Faith as I was searching and totally went hey and hours later….  I had planned to rewatch Faith, and I will, but I do not think I have to do a Faith revisited post.  I think I will like it more on the 2nd viewing and forgive it’s vagaries in lieu of its heart.  I wish it were just a tad more grown up in the romance department, physically.  It was pretty fabulous on the way the two lead characters fell for each other and interacted.   But this list, while a little irreverent, hits my major points.  I have to say I started out not liking Eun-soo very much in the first few episodes but soon she charmed even me.

Reasons to Love Faith

A great central story

The idea of 14th Century Goryeon X men powers

A 14th Century Goryeon Warrior carrying a 21rst century police riot shield.  (Was it on account of the fan girls?)

A guy with a big flute that kills people. Ha.

faithfluteboy

The lead character is over 30.  And the lead character is a doctor.  A female lead character that is not a poor uneducated girl

Eun-soo is a talented plastic surgeon that could not walk and talk at the same time

faitheat

The initial animation and special effects

faithanim

faithchoi

Hey Psycho

How old are you?

F-U-C-K  you!

That’s your underwear

Dae-man

Eun-soo’s  burgeoning 14th Century Beauty Industry

Lee Min Ho and a mane of glory

Lee Min Ho with a flower in his hair

faith7-00284

Lee Min Ho breathing

Lady Choi

faithlady

Great Big Choi Young

The Royals

faith11

Being able to say Woo Dal Chi on a regular basis,  I still bust it out for fun

Female warriors

Faith

Choi Young having the ability to give new meaning to magic fingers

faith-eun-soo

Reason not to Love Faith

Uneven-ness

Neutered Bad Guys

Neutered X men powers

Neutered and moronic elite guards

The worst royal palace security EVER see neutered and moronic elite guards

faithwoo

 

There was not a Flute Boy and Choi Young epic battle scene in the rain shirtless or at least in very clingy shirts.   THAT WAS A FAIL.

Eun-soo is a talented plastic surgeon that could not walk and talk at the same time.  Yes, it’s on both lists.

You know the scene where the royals and Doc and Eun-soo are sitting at a table and Choi Young and Eun-soo start bickering?  No, not that, because that was great.  Fail=not having ANY more of that.

 

Too many asshats lead bad guys

faithbad1

Asshat that wore hair clips

faithbad

Creeper Asshat

faithbad4

Mystery Asshat that was probably an asshat from the future

 

faith bad2

Bad guy fourth string but very much an Asshat

Bad Voldemort on ludes action scenes

Bad special effects see Voldemort on ludes

Choi Young NOT being allowed to giving new meaning to magic fingers

Continuity issues

Too many characters that could have been awesome and were left hanging

No explanation of super powers and stuff

Dropped plot bunnies hopping all over the place, oh like the OPENING animated sequence

faithani1What the hell happened to this guy?

Budget/directing/production-when Javabeans or GirlFriday over at Dramabeans say HEY, this directing isn’t right in like the FIRST episode, PAY ATTENTION.

 

faith3-00183

fairthsleepy

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snow_white
    Nov 30, 2013 @ 09:50:00

    “Lee Min Ho with a flower in his hair” Aww….that’s cho chweet….haven’t seen Faith and so I didn’t know about this….why is he sporting that by the way?? LOL 😀

    Reply

  2. Caitlyn Burton
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 03:10:04

    I bookmarked this post and finally got around to reading it. I can’t decide whether the Pro’s list outweighs the Cons list. I think Faith is going to be one of those shows that sits on my Plan to Watch list for ever and then eventually i look at it and think “well, that’s never gonna happen”, lol. I love the photos of Min Ho though; it will probably be him that gets me watching it in the end. Pfft, I say probably. If I watch it, it will definitely be for him.

    “Too many characters that could have been awesome and were left hanging” – this is always really frustrating because you have to assume the writer didn’t just add these characters into the show without having an idea of where they were going. Or maybe they did. I guess if they were filler characters that happened to be awesome, maybe they never meant to have a proper ending.

    Reply

    • randomsoju
      Dec 12, 2013 @ 04:15:12

      I think for characters left hanging–alot of things can happen-if it’s a write as you go show, then everything you said probably happens. Sometimes scenes are cut. I think that happens a lot. For Faith the writer did a Q and A and explained that many scenes in the script never made it to filming due to directing decisions and lack of time. There is a link on my links page of you want to read it it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

I do not own the images used in this blog unless specified. They belong to the originating photographer or source.

