My Week in K Drama Viewing 11/02/2013

I’m in a weird place in kdrama viewing and kind of burned out.  I’m cranky so be forewarned.

I might have to drop Unemployed Romance-I have not watched the latest epi, and I did not like last weeks epi.  I do not care for the male lead actor.

Heirs Episode 7 and 8:

The episodes are still choppy,  This is just going to be a factor due to the plethora of characters, but the direction and editing, sorry suck it up and take the blame.  There is no reason to have two characters talking to each other and then cut and go to them talking to each other somewhere else.  Transition 101 please. They really need to do more group scenes to get all the players covered and help with the choppiness, but so much of the plot is duo driven, one on one interaction.  This show actually probably needs to stop trying to cover so many people each episode and do alternating episode coverage of side stories.  Kim Palace people one episode and the Zeus Group people next episode.

I’m just going to say it.  I am completely over forced kiss sneak attacks that are there for absolutely no reason.   The kiss in E8 is one of those kisses.  NO REASON for it in the context of the scene.  At least the director did not require PSH to bug eye it.

I like the subversion of the male leads.  K drama watchers are getting what they want but probably do not get that-the first lead male character actually has the personality of a second lead male character, so the 2nd lead is getting the girl in the drama.

The couch Young-do scene was pretty interesting visually, and pretty too:  all of the color and shapes and patterns, and there he is, a study in black and white.   Chaos and clarity.   But he can’t see the clarity because he’s a shit storm of chaos.   Symbolism and all that is the bomb.

In case no one understands the dream theme, they spelled it out in Kim Tan’s classroom-“What are your visions of the future?”

I’ll finish explaining.    There is a specific kind of dream catcher that is called Eye of the Future. Dream catchers are  supposed to hold destiny.

These kids don’t have any dreams of the future.

The dream catcher filters out bad dreams and allows good dreams to come through.  Therefore, Kim Tan is starting to dream.

This theme can also be tied to the God Eye, another type of Native American spiritual object, with meaning tied to vision and perception.

The eye stuff connects to all the staring.  Staring indications one is ready to face whatever lies ahead.

Both dream catchers and god’s eyes are tied to the protection and well being of children.

Young-do is a total wanker.  It was quite interesting that Mr. Percepto find the weak spot seemed to be clueless that Eun-sang was petrified at the lunch table.  Just because he had taken off his terrorist hat for five seconds, she was supposed to know that he just wanted to eat lunch.

As we all know by now, there characters are not written to be likable.  I am okay with that, but we need to see some better quality editing and directing.

I’m interested to see if Eun-sang is going to find her inner justice girl or if the writer will continue to write her as a self involved character.  On one hand,  always good for a character to stand up to bullies.  On the other hand,  that will firmly cast the character in typical trope land, and it is refreshing to watch a writer do something different and not quite nice with the lead female.  Either way, she’s turning into a complete damsel in distress though, so it is becoming difficult to not align her with a Candy character.

To avoid that trope, she needs to move out of the Kim Palace.   She should be able to find a room-mate somewhere.   Evidently she has no friends other than Chan-young,  or co-workers.  How can she live in such a void at that age?  Weird.

She needs to meet Hyun-joo,  not only as a potential roomie, but to understand what her future holds if she continues on the path she is on.

Hoping for more Kang Haneul.  Sigh.

That Rachel and Young-do have now made a pact to go after our not so happy couple does not bode well.  Especially considering YD is sadistic.

Secret-  Absolutely appalled at the reactions of views squeeing over that mouth rape.  One commenter said that the two characters were cute.  Seriously?  Some viewers are saying that she wanted him to kiss her after she got out of the car, and that she needed to be woke up by the kiss, and how sweet they were together.  I feel a little sick.   She was totally emotionally exhausted, stunned into submission by his assault.  If anyone thinks for one minute she is crying because of an emotional awakening, they are as nuts as everyone on the show.  She’s crying because she’s agreed to do anything he wants and she’s considering this part of the deal.  It’s the  equivalent of a woman being forced into a sexual relationship and deciding to lay back and take it.  She was checking out, not waking up.   I’m totally okay with the scene as what the fuckery because this is not a drama about nice people having happy lives.  These are effed up people.  I am however horrified that viewers found this scene hot or exciting.   Evidently because Crazy Chabeol has the feels that is all that matters.  Our Lady of Incarceration has shown not one iota of interest in this guy at all and the only thing that many viewers notice is that he’s falling for her and how lucky she will be?   She is totally discounted as a person.  It’s just a given that she should want him?  Now THAT’s some fucked up shit.

I cannot remember if I watched Medical Top Team this week.

Reply 1994 Epi 3 and 4-I do not like bathroom humor.  It’s a huge turn off.  The farting stuff.  No.  And it looks like epi five is  about the runs.  Joy.   Bathroom humor to me is like writers are scraping the dregs oc creativity.  The only reason I could abide it in Flower Boy Raymun Shop is because it was tied thematically to Eun-bi’s repression.   I hope R94 gets over that shit.  Pun intended.

The show has succeeded in making me second guess myself.  The guy playing trash is listed first on the cast list after the girl lead and the two parents.  Thus, he should be end game.  But, she’s already got a crush on him, which trope wise sends us in another direction.  Sigh.

A little heavy on the curse words.  Told ya I was cranky.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlyn Burton
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 23:37:59

    Agreed agreed agreed about everything (except Reply 1994 coz i don’t really mind that humour). Re: Secret, I had the same reaction as you when I was reading people’s comments over how they finally kissed, blah blah blah. Are you kidding me!? He was assaulting her! Urgh, these kind of scenes just make me want to quit watching altogether, but for some reason I still want to see what happens in the end.

    Also, this line about Heirs – “There is no reason to have two characters talking to each other and then cut and go to them talking to each other somewhere else.” Yes yes yes, that’s just weird and unnecessary.

    Reply

    • randomsoju
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 00:51:54

      I’m okay with the scene in the context of drama because these people are not supposed to be right in the head. Ji Sung is really awesome. It’s the viewers thinking this scene was romantic that scare the crap out of me! Did you notice that he put his left hand on her right thigh, before touching her face, and when he was kissing her it appeared that he had his right hand braced on her left thigh. That was a little surprising. That makes me remember, I meant to say something about the mean girls scary ass legs that they keep filming with her reclining back and sticking them out. Someone thinks they are hot evidently lol.

      Reply

      • Caitlyn Burton
        Nov 03, 2013 @ 03:08:23

        People seem to think that any situation where someone is doing anything resembling a kiss or anything sexual, is automatically a romantic thing. They don’t consider the context. I noticed the thighs but didn’t think much of it. Well, I just figured he was holding her in place. Which just made it worse.

        Oh, also, Unemployed Romance is more flashback, urgh. And next week looks to be the same.

        Reply

  2. snow_white
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 00:39:27

    I hate bathroom humour…..the biggest turn off for me and for that reason alone, I have no desire to start R94…accidentally saw a pic..

    That Secret kiss was gross….not watching the show but watched that kiss…she was struggling sooooo much!! And the same people who call it hot and romantic think that the last kiss of Heirs was so forceful..when they don’t even know the conclusion..it was not good either but when u compare it to Secret….well..

    That’s what I’m thinking all along…Tan has all the tropes of a second lead and I love this role reversal….

    Reply

    • randomsoju
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 01:20:44

      I think we are going to have to start a support group or something: I’m totally getting weirded out lately. between squees over that Secret kiss and all the strangely deliberate negative almost trolling comments about Heirs. I think I am going to have to turn off Viki comments and stay way from any discussion threads for a while and get my balance.

      Reply

      • snow_white
        Nov 03, 2013 @ 01:06:13

        That’s what I was thinking!! Stay away from others’ comments and just relax and watch for a few days…..

        The same thing is happening with me…annoyed….as if some are deliberately writing negative stuff for whatever reasons…

        🙂

        Reply

        • randomsoju
          Nov 03, 2013 @ 03:03:29

          it’s almost like a spam/sabotage campaign! I haven’t been able to figure it out yet. There is the what appears to be deliberate negative posts, and then there are the negative posts combined with(insert another currently airing drama here) is sooo much better (usually Secret) and I don’t know why people aren’t watching it and talking about it. Add in the hijacks that comment mostly on Secret and then put in a dig that there should be recaps on Secret. I cannot figure out if it is two different “campaigns” or just one lol. It just does not make sense, who repeatedly watches a drama and just keeps saying how much they dislike it? And who goes on a thread just to say they are not really watching it because it is so bad and people should be watching something else? Okay so you get a few of those, but the level of volume—It’s not normal. Color me conspiracy theory.

        • snow_white
          Nov 03, 2013 @ 03:10:10

          hahahahahaha……So.True. 😀 😀

          I’m thinking of staying away from all those discussions for a while and just enjoy the show (or not) on my own…..of course, if I’ll like it, I’ll add my own “I LOVED it” in the comments section….but will not read anything else 😉

        • randomsoju
          Nov 03, 2013 @ 03:26:40

          good plan. Let’s make a pact haha

        • snow_white
          Nov 03, 2013 @ 08:30:01

          LOL 😀

    • Caitlyn Burton
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 03:10:12

      Hey snow_white, Reply 1994 is pretty good, there isn’t really that much toilet humour. At least, not enough to stop someone watching it. So far, I recommend it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

I do not own the images used in this blog unless specified. They belong to the originating photographer or source.

