Korean Drama Kisses-The Good Ones

flower-yoon-shi-yoon-lee-ji-ah-kiss27

I am jumping on the bandwagon and providing my breakdown of Top Ten Best Korean Drama Kisses.  It is like a rite of passage.  This is what I think are some of the best kissing scenes.  That does not mean they are my favorite kissing scenes or my favorite actors, actresses, or dramas.

My prerequisites for best kissing scenes?  I kept it simple:

a)      It has to be more than a lip press.  Both parties must actively engage and it cannot be just a mere glimpse or hint of lip action.

b)      There has to be lip movement from both parties, and it has to have some modicum of feeling “real.”

Ranked in order, with #1 being my #1 pick.

10. My Name Is Kim Sam Soon-This almost did not make the list because it has quite a bit of shoulder and head blocking the view during the scene.  It made the list because it is a long kissing scene and does have several close shots, and the decisive factor is even though Hyun Jin-heon initiates the intimacy, Kim Sam Soon pursues the kiss.

9.  Queen Inhyun’s Man Last Scene -The chemistry with the leads in the drama made the drama.  I wish I liked this drama all around more, because the flirtation between the characters is just stellar.  This is the extended cut, most of which did not make it on air.

8.  Big-This was a surprise for me.  This show was a total disappointment in the end, but we forget that it did not lack all around.  And the kissing scenes did not suck.

7.  Rooftop Prince Wedding Kiss –This making my list at all really surprised me.  I forgot that there were quite a few kisses in this drama.   It is a quiet kiss, rather than a passionate one, and both parties engage in the kiss.

rooftop

6.  Reply 1997 Stairwell Kiss-I love the awkardness and at same time the comfort level in this kiss.

5.  Goong-This kiss is probably on every list out there; it is one of the few teenage level shows that has an open mouth kiss.   It makes you even think hey, maybe there might be some tongue going on.

goongkiss

4.  Lie to Me Cola Kiss-This show gets a lot of flack because it lacks a certain cohesiveness.  However, it has one of THE best K drama kisses, and more than one good romantic scene and kissing scene.

3.  Me Too Flower- I am not a fan of a forced kiss.  But this one sends me, because it’s a culmination of emotional and physical awakening for Cha Bong-sun, and bam,  she is on him like a duck on a june bug.  And well, Yoon Si Yoon’s bottom lip.

2.  Coffee Prince 2-Red Shirt Against the Door Kiss. Don’t see this much in dramas.

dgg

1. Coffee Prince 1-Alien or Man Kiss-Coffee Prince Kisses are not the most pretty kisses.  But they get top spots on my list because they are the most real.  I think it is hysterical that you have to sign in to  verify your age to view this video.  Why so silly?

Honorable Mentions

Flower Boy Raymun Shop-I’m Not Finished Kiss-The  # 10 spot really was a toss-up for this kiss because I love me some Cha Chi-soo.  But it does not meet the criteria of the female lead actively engaging in the kiss.

Personal Taste Game Over Kiss-This kiss did not make the Top Ten and that shocked me because I really like this drama, and this moment.  Some people criticize the kiss and label it a lip press because they say that the female lead is not responding to the kiss.  I disagree.

Almost kisses that are  way hotter than a bug eyed lip press:

Boys Over Flowers- Seoulmates.   Ah, look at the puppy smoulder.

puppysmoulder

Flower Boys Raymun Shop Kimchi Kiss-Cha Chi-soo is a provocative little devil.

Monstar-The difference between this and So Yi-jung in BOF is that So Yi-jung knows he can mind fuck girls.  I do not think that Seol Chan even knows that he had mind fuck skills, but well… there it is.  I find it disturbing this is this hottest K Drama scene I have watched in 2013.  Evidently all the video footage of this gets pulled so, yeah, just a still.  It’s Episode 6 by the way.

m6-4

What I learned about myself while compiling this list:  I am a sucker for a plump bottom lip on a man.  I already knew that, but it seems my K Drama kissing scenes are informed by that fetish preference.   I long for the day that some drama team gets the courage to  create a female lead character that is a biter, and the actress has the opportunity to get hold of, say, Lee Min Ho’s bottom lip. I also think about what would happen if Jonghyun was an actor, because he looks HE would bite.   Is that over sharing?  Some of what I considered stimulating scenes or favorites did not make the cut.  Does that mean I have some objectivity?  I do not know.

Note:  So Yoon Eun-hye is part of 4 of the kisses on that list.  Gong Yoo, whom I do not even find particularly attractive is the top guy with 3 of the kisses on the list.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vegaspink
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 22:04:40

    Yay… Yoon Eun Hye is definitely the top female…. Her kiss scenes with Yoochun in Missing You are not bad either…

    Reply

  2. Caitlyn
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 09:22:13

    Yeah, I think Yoon Eun Hye and Gong Yoo are just like “Dude, if I’m gonna be in your drama, I’m gonna be kissing my own way”, lol. Lee Min Ho as well, almost.

    The Game Over kiss, I think she’s responding, you can see her moving. That was the first drama I saw Min Ho in, and since then, I’ve thought that he seems like a really good kisser. The almost kiss in City Hunter is a good one too.

    I haven’t seen that extended Queen Inhyun’s scene. They were fully having sex in that theatre, lol. You gotta love cable dramas.

    There was a great makeout scene in She Is Wow as well. Lots of tongue, lol

    Reply

    • randomsoju
      Jul 30, 2013 @ 13:42:46

      I think it is safe to say many people are waiting for Lee Min Ho in a role that will take advantage of his obvious skill sets. Seriously, drama gods, make it happen.

      Thanks for the info-I will check out She is Wow!

      Reply

  3. westerngirleasternboy
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 18:30:50

    I’m about to start recapping the kiss scenes from A Witch’s Romance! They’re too good~~~

    Reply

  4. Chelly Wood
    May 03, 2014 @ 10:24:23

    I LOVE the “Game over” kiss in Personal Taste. In fact, I own the DVD of that series, and I watch the “Game over” kiss all the time ’cause it’s all that and a bag of really yummy chips!

    But I’m wondering what drama to watch with my kids next. I have an eleven-year-old daughter and a thirteen-year-old daughter. Personal Taste is too racy for them–it has that sex scene at the end where they wake up naked together. Coffee prince has one too. Those are great movies, but not for kids.

    Do you have any suggestions? We’ve already seen Boys Over Flowers, Faith: the Great Doctor, He’s Beautiful (Gominam), and Playful Kiss (which was probably too racy for them). I’d love a suggestion. What K-Drama is good clean romantic comedy fun for kids?

    Reply

    • randomsoju
      May 03, 2014 @ 21:21:30

      Sorry, but I really don’t watch preteen oriented shows & my blog is not oriented for children, thus I am not comfortable with recommending any k drama for children.

      Reply

    • solcanis
      May 21, 2014 @ 13:04:53

      To the beautiful you is kid friendly. About a girl who goes to an all boys school in order to get close to her favorite athlete. I let my 10 year old niece watch it. Dream High 1 and 2 my niece watched when she was 13. Panda and Hedgehog was tame too. Prime Minister and I was pretty tame too. Also Queen’s Classroom is all about kids so that one is good for kids.

      Reply

    • Kim Taeyeon
      Feb 09, 2016 @ 22:52:10

      Definitely “Secret Garden” hilarious yet wonderful

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

I do not own the images used in this blog unless specified. They belong to the originating photographer or source.

