Revisiting Best Love/The Greatest Love

Image

I randomly decided to watch Best Love again.  I am not sure why.  I was not crazy about it the first time.  I think I was just surfing my options and it seemed like a good idea.  Mostly because I am starving for K drama;  this year has been totally not my cup of tea for K drama offerings.

The first thing I needed to do was think about what I remembered from my first viewing:

-Gong Hyo-jin-YAY!

-Funny moments, sweet moments, lots of puns and entertainment industry jokes and meta references.

-I understand the themes and so forth but I really disliked the artificial heart element, it was just way past a credible plot element.  An action star with an artificial heart.  Yeah, okay.

-Loved Ding Dong.

-Kang Seri=brat.  Will be redeemed in the end like most bitchy second leads.

-Doctor-Meh.

-Dokki Jin=He talked really weird and was certifiable bat shit crazy.  He makes Gu Jun Pyo seem mellow, and humble.

-This was the drama that would not end, and it was only 16 episodes.

-I liked the not perfect ending.

Now to revisit for the second viewing-

Gong Hyo-jin-YAY!  Still love her.  However,  I found I liked the character of Ae-jung less, specifically after the Dating Show ended.  She never specifically was two timing the Doctor, but she was never  forthright with him either, for way too long a period of time to suit me.  I found her admirable for her self-sacrifice for friends/family and her fortitude of spirit to do what it takes to get by, but for some reason by the 12th episode I was tired of her letting the Doctor make moon eyes at her when she knew she was in love with another man.  She never really ever saw the Doctor as a person, he was just a security blanket,  and I found that it made me dislike her a bit.

Funny moments, sweet moments, lots of puns and entertainment industry jokes and meta references still applied.  I found I enjoyed this more the second time around.

I understand the themes and so forth but I really disliked the artificial heart element, it was just way past a credible plot element.  An action star with an artificial heart.  Yeah, okay.  I still feel exactly the same.

-Still loved Ding Dong.

Kang Seri=brat.  Will be redeemed in the end like most bitchy second leads.  I dislike these female second lead character tropes.  She was one of the less offensive ones, but still, I really dislike the let the mean girl show one ounce of humanity and oh wow, she’s redeemable, let’s forget the years and years she’s been a totally waste of good air.

Doctor-I appreciated this character more this time around, and found him more attractive.

Dokki Jin=He spoke weird and was certifiable bat shit crazy.  Still totally feel this way.  This character was kind of offputting, like he could be some kind of pedo or perv, even when he was funny, charming, or vulnerable, he made me want to keep my distance.  Like looking at a shark in an aquarium.

-This WAS the drama that would not end, and it was only 16 episodes.  Okay, so by EPISODE 8 I was so over this drama.  I mean seriously over it.  I found myself, by episode 6, starting to multitask and do chores.  I HAVE TO READ THE SUBS, I am not fluent in Korean, and I was walking away from the screen!  I endured, but finally stopped and looked at the episode I was on and thought oh no, ONLY episode 8?  I made it to episode 12 and decided to call it a day. I actually LIKE the ending, but I was so over the drama I did not even want to watch it.

I liked the not perfect ending. Um, see above comment.

Further notes for the second viewing:

-My goodness, Ae-jung had the worst clothes.  Nothing ever matched.

– I was not feeling any chemistry with any of the leads.  It all just seemed awkward, but then again Gong Hyo-jin excels at awkward characters.

I cannot say exactly why this drama lost me.  It should be entertaining enough with all of the Dokko Jin antics and the engaging secondary and tertiary characters. I loved how Ae-jung would just listen to bs and call the person on it.  I can usually pin point a reason why I find a drama lacking.  Take Queen Inhyun’s Man.  I can pin point why it is not on my favorites list despite the awesomeness of one of the best male lead characters ever:  I adored the lead couple scenes, but the rest of it…oh look a butterfly flew past the window!  Best Love however, was a bit of a muddle for me in trying to figure out the whole picture on why the drama did not work for me.

And just so you know, I totally have that skull scarf.  Guess I need to toss it now. 😉

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snow_white
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 09:37:32

    With me, the second time viewing did an opposite effect than you. First time, I liked the show….but after I watched it twice, I LOVE it now 😀
    And I loved Ding Dong a lot!!

    Reply

    • randomsoju
      Jul 14, 2013 @ 09:44:19

      I understand completely! I have revisited dramas and gained a better appreciation of them. I do not think I like Best Love and more or any less than I did before. I just gained a little more clarity. I would still recommend it for someone looking for a zany type rom com, and I think I do on my recommendations, probably under the “Chockful of Delightful Moments” section.

      Reply

  2. Caitlyn
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 09:55:41

    I need to watch this again. I loved it the first time, so i’m curious to see whether I’ll love it the second time as well. I always get worried about rewatching a drama, because I think i build them up in my head as better than they were. And then I rewatch it and just think “well… huh”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

I do not own the images used in this blog unless specified. They belong to the originating photographer or source.

